Monday, December 5, 2011

3 Day Ranch Holiday Open House Schooling!

DECEMBER 28, 2011
8:00 AM TO 2:00 PM

Monday, August 15, 2011

October 2nd One Day HT & Combined Test!

October 2, 2011
One Day Horse Trials and Combined Test
1st Place Prizes for Horse Trials and Ribbons to 6th Place
Walk-Trot - Intermediate Level
Pre-entries Close September 20, 2011
Extra rounds available at all levels.
9:00 am Start Dressage One Day Horse Trial
Combined Test Dressage will be at the end Horse Trial Division
10:30 am Start Show Jumping
Riders may Show Jump in Cross Country equipment.
Show Jump will serve as warm up for cross country.

Friday, April 8, 2011

Area VI Young Rider Raffle

We are nearing the end of the "Year of Eventing in Area VI Raffle" in support of the Area VI Young Riders. Every organizer in Area VI donated an entry resulting in a retail value of approximately $2500. Raffle tickets are $10 each or 6 for $50. Certificates are transferable. There are 1500 tickets available. The raffle ends on April 24th. Tickets are available from all Area VI Young Rider program members. Feel free to contact us if you need to get in touch with them.


After the first day of dressage at The FORK- SCES riders are shining. In the Advanced-Heather Morris is in 1st place with a 28.3 and Tiana Coudray is tied for 2nd with a 29.3. In the CIC3*-Kelly Prather stands in 3rd with a 51.9. Go SCES riders!!!!!

Busy Spring for SCES

It has been a busy spring for Southern California Equestrian Sports. We ran our Horse Trials the weekend of March 19-20, concluded the West Coast Fundraiser last week in conjunction with the Elite Event Horse Auction held during the Galway Downs competition and are running the "Year of Eventing in Area VI Raffle" benefiting Area V Young Rider program. SCES rider's are on the road-Jennifer Wooten and Hawley Bennett-Awad are headed to Badminton. Jil Walton, Martha McDowell, Tiana Coudray, Frankie Thierot, Heather Morris and Kelly Prather are all enroute to Rolex. It's exciting to see all of the competitors pursue their goals. Keep in mind these journies all come with a big price tag-so your continued support is always needed and appreciated. Special thanks to Wendy Wergeles and the Elite Event Horse Auction. SCES is the beneficiary of this event and we look to improve our prescense and assistance for this important event. Also a big thank you to Rose Sullivan for her donation of a breeding to Clair de Lune SE and to Vickie Koss for being the Buyer. More thanks are owed to The Michel's of Jackson Hole, WY for their donation of a one week stay at a luxury 2 bd condominium at The Teton Club. Dayna Lynd-Pugh was the lucky winner. All donors (over $50) to the West Coast Rider Fund from January 1 thru April 4 were included in a drawing . Riders-keep this in mind for next year. As you may have noticed we have a new website guru-Lisa Thomas. Riders, we are still looking for website links and photos. Thank you to all of our supporters. We are always looking for people to help us continue to raise funds for our riders so please don't hesitate to contact us.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Tiana Coudray Awarded Lionel Guerrand-Hermes Trophy!

USET Foundation Will Award 2011 Lionel Guerrand-Hermes Trophy to Tiana Coudray

Release: January 13 2011
Author: Rebecca Walton/Phelps Media Group, Inc. Internatio

Tiana Coudray and Ringwood Magister.
Photo by Stock Images.
Gladstone, NJ - The United States Equestrian Team Foundation is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2011 Lionel Guerrand-Hermes Trophy will be talented eventing rider Tiana Coudray. Each year this award is presented to a Young Rider in one of the Olympic disciplines who exemplifies both sportsmanship and horsemanship. In 2010 Coudray had a banner year, winning the Jersey Fresh CCI*** and the Galway Downs International Horse Trials CIC***, as well as leading the U.S. efforts at the Boekelo CCI*** in Holland.

"When the USET Foundation told me that I was the winner of this year's award I went and looked it up," commented Coudray. "I was pretty honored to look at the other names on the list throughout the years and think of what those people have gone on to do later in their careers."

Over the years, Coudray has consistently shown her talent as a young rider. She won Team Gold at the North American Young Riders Championships in both 2004 and 2008, and took home the Individual Silver Medal in 2004. She has won the United States Eventing Association Young Rider of the Year Award an amazing three times in 2005, 2007, and 2009.

Today, Coudray is successfully competing with Ringwood Magister, a nine-year-old Irish Sport Horse that she trained herself. Coundray noted, "I have had him his whole life and this year was the first time he really put all the pieces together and consistently had fantastic results."

Coudray added, "Everyday is a new day and I think that it's easy to get caught up in what's gone well, but there are no guarantees for the future. Certainly I am honored to receive the award and the opportunities that I had in 2010, like going to Holland. Hopefully it will help open the door to even more opportunities but I still have to go out and earn good results year after year. "

Coudray will be presented with this prestigious award at the USET Foundation Reception on January 28th, in Wellington, Florida.

Lionel Guerrand-Hermès Trophy Winners
Patrick Guerrand-Hermès established the Lionel Guerrand-Hermès Memorial Award in 1983 in memory of his son, Lionel, who was tragically killed in an automobile accident in 1981 at the age of 18. Lionel trained with the United States Equestrian Team and was talented enough to be considered an Olympic hopeful. A perpetual trophy designed by Patrick Guerrand-Hermès is inscribed annually with the winner's name and permanently displayed at the USET Foundation headquarters in Gladstone, New Jersey. Previous winners are:

1983 - Mark Leone
1984 - Jeffery Welles
1985 - Holly Mitten
1986 - Gregory A Best
1987 - Susanne Owen
1988 - Christopher Kappler
1989 - Mollie Bliss
1990 - Kim Keenan
1991 - McLain Ward
1992 - Abigail Lufkin
1993 - Mark Combs
1994 - Gabriella Salick
1995 - Megan Johnstone
1996 - Jonathan Elliot
1997 - Alison Firestone
1998 - Bruce Davidson Jr.
1999 - Chad Geeter
2000 - Elise Haas
2001 - Marilyn Little
2002 - Clark Montgomery
2003 - Will Faudree
2004 - Kristin Schmolze
2005 - Brianne Goutal
2006 - Katie Hamilton
2007 - Carolyn Kelly
2008 - Hillary Dobbs
2009 - Laura Noyes
2010 - Jennifer Waxman


The United States Equestrian Team Foundation ( is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America's elite and developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at